2014 Awards winners

Employee of the Year

Leanne Masterton

Travelling Head Girl for Andrew Balding

Leanne Masterton crowned Employee of the Year at Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards 2014.

Following a gala evening ceremony celebrating the tenth anniversary of the Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards, Leanne Masterton, Travelling Head Girl for Andrew Balding, was named as Employee of the Year 2014.

Leanne was awarded with the perpetual Godolphin Trophy by presenter Clare Balding and special guest presenter and 18-time Champion Jump Jockey AP McCoy at a glittering event hosted by the British Horseracing Authority (BHA). She was also presented with a cheque for £30,000, of which £15,000 will be shared amongst the staff at the Park House Stables in Kingsclere.

Leanne joined Park House at 16 and developed into one of the most respected travelling grooms on the international circuit. She rode seven winners as an apprentice at Park House and her riding ability is one of the key reasons she was chosen to represent the yard on various high-profile overseas excursions, including to Canada, America, Turkey, Germany, Italy, Hong Kong and Dubai.

The highlight of Leanne’s 18-year career came in 2013 as she played an instrumental role in travelling Side Glance to Australia in 2013 as he went on to win the Group 1 Mackinnon Stakes on Derby Day at Flemington Racecourse.

Brough Scott, Chairman of the Judging Panel, commented: “This tenth set of awards produced a quite outstanding set of finalists and quite excellent winners. Finally choosing Leanne Masterton as employee of the year was particularly difficult but she is a magnificent illustration of how fulfilling a role in racing can be.”

The full list of winners and runners up are as follows:

Leadership Award
Winner: Tony Gorman, Head Lad – Richard Hannon
Runners up: Adam Kite, Head Man/Assistant Trainer – Ralph Beckett; Rory O’Dowd, Assistant Trainer – Brian Meehan.

Rider/Groom Award
Winner: Leanne Masterton, Travelling Head Girl – Andrew Balding
Runners up: Tony Garth, Travelling Supervisor – Saeed bin Suroor; Alfie Mills, Rider/Groom – Mark Johnston

Stud Staff Award
Winner: Gerry Meehan, Yearling Manager – Newsells Park Stud
Runners up: Jayne Bushby, Stud Groom – Upton Viva Stud; Becky Stebbing, Manager of Yearlings – New England Stud.

Dedication to Racing Award
Winner: Maxine Ledger, Head Girl – Richard Hannon
Runners up: Michael Ashley, Head Lad – John W Hills; Stuart Jackson, Travelling Head Lad – David Simcock

David Nicholson Newcomer Award
Winner: Ben James, Stable Staff – William Haggas
Runners up: Emma Dwyer, Assistant Yard Manager – Mark Johnston; Scott Sainsbury, Stable Lad – Andrew Balding.

Administration Staff Award
Winner: Marbeth Blair, Office Manager – Brian Meehan