2011 Awards winners

Employee of the Year Award

David Bradley

Head Man for Jeremy Noseda

David Bradley crowned Employee of the Year at Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards 2011.

David Bradley was named ‘Employee of the Year’ at the seventh annual Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards Ceremony, which took place at the Jumeirah Carlton Tower Hotel in London’s Knightsbridge on Monday 28th February.

The 57 year-old Head Man, employed by Jeremy Noseda, was presented with the perpetual Godolphin Trophy by Guest Presenter and retained Godolphin Jockey, Frankie Dettori. In addition to the stunning trophy, David was also presented with a cheque for £25,000, of which £10,000 will be shared amongst the staff at Noseda Yard.

Jeremy Noseda, who nominated David for the Award, said of his Head Man: “David is, by a considerable margin, the best member of staff I’ve ever had the fortune of working with.”

Brough Scott, Chairman of the Panel commented: “We have been blown away by the quality of the Winners this afternoon and this made the decision of choosing the Employee of the Year very hard. However, David Bradley brings a unique mixture of international experience, local achievement and future planning, which exemplifies exactly what these Awards are about.”

Frankie Dettori added: “I have been honoured to be a part of what has been an incredibly overwhelming day, meeting and spending time with such fantastic people. The Stud and Stable Staff are the lifeblood of our industry and we’d all be out of a job without them, so it’s hugely positive that they are being acknowledged in this manner and such a generous level of prize money provided.”

Each individual category winner collected £5,000, with their colleagues at their respective Stable or Stud also sharing £5,000 between them. The two Runners-Up in each category also received £2,000, with their Yard or Stud also collecting the same amount. The winner of the separate NASS Special Merit Award, judged by the NASS Executive, received an individual prize of £5,000.

The full list of winners and runners up are as follows:

NASS Special Merit Award
Winner: George McGrath, Travelling Head Lad with Willie Musson

David Nicholson Newcomer Award
Winner: Ben Howe, Stable Lad with Ruth Carr
Runners Up: Amie Trow, Rider/Groom – David Lanigan; Jade Walters, Stable Lass – Paul Nicholls

High Achiever Award
Winner: David Bradley, Head Man – Jeremy Noseda
Runners Up: Alex Bevan, Assistant Trainer – Alan McCabe; Barry O’Dowd, Assistant Trainer – John Gosden

Rider/Groom Award
Winner: Geoffrey Thompson, Work Rider/Groom – Sir Michael Stoute
Runners Up: Joe Scally, Stable Lad -Jeremy Noseda; Steve Wooley, Rider – Andrew Balding

Stud Staff Award
Winner: Graham Paxton, Stud Groom – Darley Stud
Runners Up: Douglas Ventress, Stud Groom – Plantation Stud; Sandra Morton, Stud Groom – Folly Farm

Dedication to Racing Award
Winner: Albert ‘Corky’ Browne
Runners Up: David Winsor, Stable Lad – Jeremy Noseda; George McGrath, Travelling Head Lad – Willie Musson