Frequently Asked Questions

What are the Thoroughbred Industry Employee Awards (TIEA)?

The first Thoroughbred Industry Employee Awards (TIEA) ceremony was held in 2005 to recognise the achievements of racing’s key staff, including on the stud side. They are run by the British Horseracing Authority, in association with the Racing Post and Racing TV and generously sponsored by Godolphin, which pledge over £128,000 prize money annually, with up to £30,000 available to an individual yard or stud.

There are six categories with prize money awarded to the winners of each and both the runners-up. Furthermore, the prize money that the winners and runners-up receive is match-funded with the same amount awarded to their yard or stud or chosen charity.

All people who make the shortlist of 10 for each category but do not progress to the final three will also receive £250 each in recognition of their achievement.

Who is eligible to enter the awards?

The awards are open to any person currently employed as stud or stable staff within England, Wales or Scotland at the time of nomination.

Candidates for the Community Award do not necessarily have to be stud or stable staff employees and can be involved or employed directly or indirectly within horseracing. The category is for anyone who has made an outstanding contribution to either to the thoroughbred across any point of its life/career or to the lives of those working within the industry, or on racing’s behalf, going above and beyond the requirements of their everyday role to showcasing social responsibility and welfare for either horses, humans or both.

Who can nominate?

Anyone can nominate; colleagues, owners, trainers, breeders, yard and stud managers are welcome to nominate staff or colleagues for the awards.

When do I nominate?

Nominations open on Tuesday 8 August 2023 and close at 5pm on Tuesday 7 November 2023.

How do I nominate?

Nominations can only be made in writing or a video or both via this website whilst the nomination period is open. Please use the form on the homepage.

Here is an example of a previously successful written and video nomination below as a guide for you to consider when making your nomination.

Videos to be maximum of five minutes’ duration.

What are the award categories?

Learn about the award categories and prize money available by clicking here.

I’ve entered a candidate before and wasn’t successful. Why should I nominate again?

Every year we receive hundreds of worthwhile nominations and we’d love to choose each of them to win a prize in recognition of their efforts.

Even if your nominee does not reach the final, they will receive a certificate of recognition, and all those who make the shortlist of 10 for each category but do not progress to the final will also receive £250 in recognition of their achievement.

There are numerous examples of an individual not making the shortlist one year, but then being nominated again and reaching the final and winning!

Having spoken to previous nominees, it is a huge boost to their self-esteem just to be nominated, so we would urge you to keep trying, even if not successful – it is hugely appreciated by those who are nominated, as well as by us.

If I nominated last year, can I re-nominate again?

Yes, anyone can be re-nominated for the awards except for the winner of the Employee of the Year Award. Previous finalists would have to be nominated for a different category.

How are the winners chosen?

An independent judging panel consisting of 12 people from the horseracing and breeding industry and geographically spread across Britain, bring varied skills and experience when judging the nominations.

The Judging process is carried out in three rounds:

First Round: Judges are put into pairs and assigned a category and initially select 10 nominations by assessing all the entries for their category and ensuring they meet the entry criteria. A shortlist of 10 is then agreed by the judging pair for each category.

Second Round: Phone interviews – a pair of judges are assigned a different category and arrange phone interviews with each of the 10 shortlisted nominees. From the interviews each judging pair select three finalists from the category they are assigned.

Third and final round: The final judging phase will take place on the morning of Monday 26 February 2024. Two judges will interview each finalist from a category they have not judged in the previous two rounds, with the judging panel then agreeing the winner from each category as well as the Employee of the Year. The winners and runners up will be revealed and awarded their prizes at an awards ceremony that evening.

Previous winners come from a cross-section of small and large Flat and Jumps yards together with small and large stud farms.

Who is the British Horseracing Authority?

The British Horseracing Authority is the regulatory and governing body of the sport. It governs, regulates and represents British Horseracing. It leads and co-ordinates activities to ensure the overall health, development and growth of the industry, with welfare of its horses and people as its priority.

Learn more about The BHA.

Who is Godolphin and what is their involvement?

Godolphin is the global thoroughbred breeding and horseracing stable founded by His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President and Prime Minister of the United Arab Emirates and Ruler of Dubai. Godolphin is the principal sponsor of the Awards and builds on the success of the sponsorship of Awards in England, Australia, America, France and Ireland.

Learn more about Godolphin.