2013 Awards winners

Employee of the Year

Brian 'Jock' Bennett

Assistant Trainer for Mark Johnston

Brian ‘Jock’ Bennett Crowned Employee of the Year at Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards 2013.

Brian ‘Jock’ Bennett was named Employee of the Year 2013 at the ninth annual Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards Ceremony, which took place at the Jumeirah Carlton Tower Hotel in London’s Knightsbridge.

The assistant trainer, employed by Mark Johnston, was presented with the perpetual Godolphin Trophy by presenter Clare Balding and special guest presenter Richard Hughes. Jock was also presented with a cheque for £30,000, of which £15,000 will be shared amongst the staff at the Johnston yard.

In over 40 years of continuous service, Jock has worked for just two trainers. Among the highlights of his time with Bill Watts was travelling Teleprompter to the Arlington Million in 1985. Upon Watts’ retirement in 1997, Jock joined Mark Johnston Racing, initially as a yardman before taking up the role of assistant trainer.

Brough Scott, Chairman of the Panel commented: “Jock Bennett should be an inspiration, not just for racing but for life itself. He links old-fashioned values with ground breaking ways without ever losing the thrill that lifted him from the beginning.”

“This was a truly wonderful set of winners. Racing is very lucky to have them.”

Each individual category winner collected £5,000, with their respective yard receiving the same amount to be shared between colleagues. The two runners-up in each category also received £2,000, with their yards also collecting the same amount. The winner of the David Nicholson Newcomer Award was awarded £2,000, with the same amount awarded to their yard, while the two runners-up received £1,000 each with the same amount awarded to their yard.

The full list of winners and runners up are as follows:

High Achiever Award
Winner: Robin Trevor-Jones, Travelling Head Lad – Ed Dunlop
Runners up: Dominique Dainton-McElroy, Head Girl – Donald McCain; Caroline Hovington, Senior Stable Lass – Ed Walker

Rider/Groom Award
Winner: Seamus O’Gorman, Work Rider – Saeed bin Suroor
Runners Up: Paul Burns, Travelling Head Lad/Breaking in yearlings – Brian Meehan; Caroline Hovington, Senior Stable Lass – Ed Walker

Stud Staff Award
Winner: Cheryl Cory, Head Girl – Goldford Stud
Runners Up: Kevin Gossage, Stud Groom/Assistant Manager – Aislabie Stud; Gill Murphy, Second In Charge – Stowell Hill Stud.

Dedication to Racing Award
Winner: Brian ‘Jock’ Bennett, Assistant Trainer – Mark Johnston
Runners Up: Gerry McCormack, Head Lad – John Gosden; Steve Raymont, Head Lad – Roger Charlton

David Nicholson Newcomer Award
Winner: Laura Hamilton-Smith, Second Girl – Chasemore Farm
Runners Up: Holly Harper, Stable Lass – Rose Dobbin; Jack Teal, Stable Lad/ Amateur Jockey – Malcolm Jefferson

Administration Staff Award
Winner: Jim Hiner, Racing Secretary – Roger Varian