York announced as venue for 2023 Thoroughbred Industry Employee Awards sponsored by Godolphin as shortlists for the six categories are revealed


York Racecourse will host the 2023 Thoroughbred Industry Employee Awards sponsored by Godolphin, as the shortlisted nominees for each of the categories have been announced. 

The awards, formerly known as the Godolphin Stud & Stable Staff Awards, provide the opportunity for employees from the industry, be they in training yards, studs or administrative roles, to be celebrated for their hard work and dedication to the sport of horseracing. 

Following two years of virtual ceremonies screened live on Racing TV, the 2023 Awards will once again be presented in person and for the first time, the ceremony will take place at York Racecourse. 

Nominations for the Thoroughbred Industry Employee Awards sponsored by Godolphin closed on 8 November and nominees hoping to pick up prizes at York on Monday 20 February have now been whittled down to a final 60-person shortlist, with ten still in the running for each of the six categories. 

Prior to the final, each category will be narrowed down to three finalists, although each of those shortlisted who do not make the final three will receive a £250 prize to recognise the significant achievement of having reached this stage of the judging process. 

Julie Harrington, Chief Executive of the BHA, said: “I am delighted that we have been able to confirm York Racecourse as the host venue for the Awards in 2023. It is exciting for everybody involved to bring the ceremony to the North of England for the first time, as we return to in-person ceremonies following a two-year absence. 

“My congratulations go to all of those shortlisted, all of whom should be very proud to have achieved this recognition from their peers and the judges.” 

The BHA and Godolphin would like to thank the awards media partners, Racing Post and Racing TV, for promoting the launch and nomination period of the 2023 Thoroughbred Industry Employee Awards. 

The shortlisted nominees for each category are: 

David Nicholson Newcomer 

Dasha Bogush – Charlie Longsdon
Grace Cashmore – Billy Aprahamian Racing
Beth Dixon – Roger Varian
Kanane Francis – Dylan Cunha
Amy Grieve – Rose Dobbin
Ryan Kavanagh – Amy Murphy
Callum Pritchard – Philip Hobbs
Anita Robson – Rebecca Menzies
Michael Vokins – Harry Eustace
Stephanie Wing – George Scott Racing


Sarah Guest – John O’Shea
Andy Jackson – Tom Dascombe
David Kent – Brian Meehan
Grahame Nichol – Paul Robson
Eamonn O’Donnabhain – Tom Lacey
Jessica O’Keefe – Venetia Williams
Dawn Oxley – Ian Williams
Diego Romeo – Longview Stud
Becky Smith – Micky Hammond
Anna Szustakiewicz – James Horton


Samantha Burgess – Plantation Farm Ltd (Richard Bandey)
Rob Challis – James Fanshawe
Rosie Clarke – David Pipe
Otavio De Camargo – James Horton
Rita Gillies – Lucinda Russell
Maisie Hainey – John Gosden
Shannon Moore – Sir Mark Prescott
Shankar Singh – Roger Varian
Emma Tully – Susan Corbett – Girsonfield Stud & Racing
Amy Vickers – Harry & Roger Charlton

Stud Staff 

Sabine Bouard – Juddmonte
Davina Burrows – Deerfield Farm
Bethan Byrne – Godolphin Management Co Ltd
Noel Challinor – Northmore Stud
Jack Conroy – Chasemore Farm
Matthew Darling – Ruth Pitman t/a Park Wood Stud
Bela Kristof – Blue Diamond Stud
Andrew Rawlin – Blue Diamond Stud
Tom Turner – Hazelwood Bloodstock Ltd
Zoe Young – Far Westfield Farm 


Angela Cheshire – Andrew Balding
David Crofts – Marcus Tregoning
James ‘Jimmy’ Guest – Malcolm Bastard
Andy Hopkins – James Fanshawe
Andrew Laird – John Gosden Ltd
Patrick McConville – Hascombe & Valiant Stud Ltd
Chris Pattenden – Diana Grissell
Claire Ricks – Marco Botti
Fabrice Smeulders – Ian Williams
Kate Walton – Micky Hammond

The Community Award 

Lucy Charnock – Injured Jockeys Fund
Jo Foster – Community racehorse visits
Aimee Hockley-Righton – Racing Welfare
Gay Kelleway – For her work supporting Ukraine
Jessica Kelsall – Racing Welfare
Hilary Parsons – HEROS Charity
Dominique Tortice – Racing Home
Margo Walsh – The Jockey Club
Tallulah Wilson – Women In Racing
Helen Wilson – Racing Welfare

Back to news