The Princess Royal confirmed as guest of honour as finalists announced for 20th Thoroughbred Industry Employee Awards

HRH The Princess Royal. Credit: Ascot Racecourse

The finalists have been announced today for the 20th anniversary of the Thoroughbred Industry Employee Awards, sponsored by Godolphin.

Her Royal Highness The Princess Royal will be the guest of honour at Ascot Racecourse as the industry celebrates the skill, passion and commitment of people working across British racing and breeding.

A former three-day eventing European champion, Olympian and amateur jockey, The Princess Royal is closely involved with several equine and veterinary charities, including Racing Welfare, the Injured Jockeys Fund and Amateur Jockeys Association.

The 18 award finalists will take part in a final round of judging on Monday 26 February, with the winners and the overall Employee of the Year announced at the evening ceremony, to be hosted by ITV Racing’s Ed Chamberlin.

More than 180 award nominations were received from across the racing and breeding industry, with the judging panel selecting a 10-person shortlist in each of the six categories before confirming the top three individuals for each award.

The ceremony at Ascot Racecourse will commemorate 20-years of honouring the extraordinary contribution of those who make a positive difference to the lives of our horses, people and local communities.

Each individual winner and runner-up will receive a share of the £128,500 prize money, again generously provided by Godolphin, with £30,000 in total for the overall Employee of the Year and their yard or stud.

BHA Chief Executive, Julie Harrington, said:

“I’d like to congratulate this year’s finalists on this wonderful achievement. You are all fitting representatives of the thousands of stud, stable and industry employees across the country who are the backbone of our sport.

“The 2024 ceremony promises to be a truly memorable occasion and it is fitting that The Princess Royal will be with us as guest of honour as we mark 20 years of recognising the very best of British racing and breeding.

“My sincere thanks to our judges, who have done a brilliant job in narrowing down the nominations, and now have the even more difficult task of choosing the overall winners.

“We are also very grateful to our sponsor, Godolphin, and award partners, the Racing Post, Racing TV and Ascot Racecourse Supports, for your ongoing commitment to shining a spotlight on the hard work, expertise and dedication of our people.”

The finalists and their employers for the 2024 Thoroughbred Industry Employee Awards, sponsored by Godolphin, are as follows:

David Nicholson Newcomer Award
Bethan Nelson (Warren Greatrex)
Molly Roberts (Ed Walker)
Hollie Wiltshire (Alan King)

Cheryl Armstrong (Charlie Fellowes)
Andrew McIntyre (William Haggas)
Eamonn O’Donnabhain (Tom Lacey)

Vicki Boyle-Atkins (Richard Phillips)
Lyndsey Bull (Ian Williams)
Alice Kettlewell (Karl Burke)

Stud Staff
Noel Challinor (Northmore Stud)
Jack Conroy (Chasemore Farm)
David Porter-Mackrell (Newsells Park Stud)

Andrea Kelly (Tim Vaughan)
Linda Murphy (Rae Guest)
Brian Taylor (Luck Greayer Shipping)

Community Award
Joanne Flaherty (Chelmsford City Racecourse)
David Letts (Racing With Pride)
Lauren Semple (Police Scotland/Scottish Racing Academy)

Notes to editors:
1. More information on the Thoroughbred Industry Employee Awards, sponsored by Godolphin can be found here.

Back to news