Shortlists revealed for 2021 Godolphin Stud & Stable Staff Awards

The Godolphin Emplyee of the Year Award Stud and Stable Staff awards 18.1.19 Pic Dan

The six shortlists for the 2021 Godolphin Stud & Stable Staff Awards have been revealed, with 206 nominations received from across the racing and breeding industries whittled down to 60.

Now in their 17th year, the awards recognise and reward the outstanding skills, commitment and contribution of over 10,000 stud and stable staff in England, Scotland and Wales.

For the first time this year, any applicant who makes the shortlist of 10, but does not progress to the final three, will receive £250 to mark the significant achievement of making the shortlist and also to distribute existing prize money more widely, given the significant financial impact of COVID-19.

The Judging Panel will now agree on a list of three finalists for each of the six categories, which will be announced in the new year. The format of the 2021 awards has changed due to the ongoing impact of COVID-19, with the entirety of the judging process likely to be conducted remotely.

The awards ceremony on Monday, 22 February 2020 will be replaced by an interactive virtual event, which will be broadcasted live and free to air on Racing TV. A celebratory event is being planned for summer 2021, subject to government guidance.

The shortlisted nominees and their employers are as follows:

David Nicholson Newcomer

Levi Capell – Willam Haggas
Alex Caulkett – Eve Johnson Houghton
Ericka Davies – Iain Jardine
Rebecca Elliott – Seamus Mullins
Jaydon Lee – Nicky Henderson
Alice Price – Ben Pauling
Alana Stiles – Hughie Morrison
Chrissie Sykes – Ruth Carr
Jessica Townend – Jedd O’Keeffe
Mikaela Wilkings – Susan Corbett


Jessica Bell – Brian Ellison
Alan Berry – Jonjo O’Neill
Alex Cairns – James Fanshawe
Rebecca Edmunds – Bryan Smart
Kayleigh Flower – William Knight
Hannah Gregory – Richard Phillips
Roddy  Griffiths – Emma Lavelle
Timothy Hogg – Jedd O’Keeffe
Tom Messenger – Dan Skelton
Lauren Webb – Daniel & Claire Kubler


Rakesh Alva – Bryan Smart
Jessica Benfield – Charlie Longsdon
Emily Bullock – Ruth Carr
Lindsay Gallagher – Barry Brennan
Maqsood Gill – Jim Boyle
Joanna Lacisz – Sir Michael Stoute
Sarah Peacock – Tom George
Faisal  – Richard Phillips
Karl Pierrepont – Henry Spiller
Sophie Teague – Nick Alexander

Stud Staff

Noel Challinor – Northmore Stud
Jack Conroy – Chasemore Farm
Natalie Folland – Elkington Stud
David Hegarty – Genesis Green Stud
Tom Hughes – Hazelwood Bloodstock
Martin Languillet – Fittocks Stud
Oliver Nash – Mildmay Farm and Stud
Antonia Neal – Far Westfield Farm
Elody Swann – Newsells Park Stud
Ellie Wright – Brick Kiln Stud


Guinand Bissessur – William Haggas
David Crofts – Marcus Tregoning
Claudia Fisher – Amy Murphy
Roy Fowler – Mick Channon
Helen Halliwell – James Fanshawe
Debbie Howie – John Gosden
Lisa Jackson – Philip Hobbs
Joline Saunders – Richard Phillips
Jane Smith – John Ryan
John Smith – Henry Candy

Community (In recognition of the wonderful work Rory MacDonald achieved at The British Racing School)

Rob Achner – Jockey Club Estates
Simon Bailey – Sports Chaplaincy UK
Bee Chapman – William Jarvis
Simon Jones
Joanna O’Neill – Jonjo O’Neill
Richard Phillips
Sam Trainor – National Horseracing College
Caroline Turnbull – Thoroughbred Breeders’ Association
Margo Walsh – The Jockey Club
Paul Wright – Weatherbys

Notes to Editors:

1. Further detail about the awards can be found here, with more information on the Judging Panel here.

Back to news