Shortlisted nominees announced for 2018 Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards

The shortlisted nominees have today been announced ahead of the 2018 Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards.


The panel of 12 judges have overseen 256 applications and narrowed them down to just ten finalists in each of the six categories.

The next stage of judging will now begin with judges speaking directly to all candidates who have made it onto the shortlist.

The judges will consider those conversations alongside the written nominations before narrowing the candidates down to just three finalists per category.

The final stage of judging will take place in London on the day of the awards ceremony, Monday, 19 February, 2018.

Finalists will be interviewed face-to-face by the judges who will then decide the winners and runners-up for each category.

The results will be revealed later that evening at the awards ceremony at the Jumeirah Carlton Towers hotel in Knightsbridge by ITV Racing’s Ed Chamberlin.

Brough Scott, Chairman of the judging panel, said:

“This is always a very difficult but humbling task. Year on year we are faced with countless examples of dedication and hard work, by the stud and stable staff who underpin the racing and breeding industries.
“On behalf of the judging panel, I would like to thank everyone who took the time to nominate, and send my commiserations to those who were not successful in making it to the next stage of the process.
“We now have the unenviable task of condensing our shortlist of ten down to three in each category, and I wish all those still in the running for the 2018 awards the very best of luck.”

The shortlist nominees are listed below:

David Nicholson Newcomer Award
NomineeNominee Yard/Stud
Alice AucottCharlie Longsdon
April ClarkeJedd O’Keeffe
Seb ToddNigel Tinkler
Adrian StewartDave Loughnane
Chloe PeacockHarraton Stud
Hannah FarrellDianne Sayer
Josephine SaundersHillwood Stud
Kim WalkerNicholas Alexander
Luke EvansAlan King
Hayley AshcroftTom Dascombe

Leadership Award
NomineeNominee Yard/Stud
Andrea KellyTim Vaughan
Graham McCourtTweenhills Farm Stud
Harry DerhamPaul Nicholls
Jamie TurnbullLucinda Russell
Leanne KershawJedd O’Keeffe
Edward MurrellJuddmonte Farms
Sarah DenniffSir Michael Stoute
Sarah GoodwinFittocks Stud
Katie AshTim Vaughan
Jessica MclernonRichard Fahey

Rider/Groom Award
NomineeNominee Yard/Stud
Sophie JarvisHarry Fry Racing
Anneli LewisCharlie Longsdon
Ben StephensMalcolm Jefferson
Faisal TahirHenry Spiller
Joao CordosoRalph Beckett
Luke WatsonRichard Philips
Petra SebestikovaLuca Cumani
Sean HugganRichard Fahey
Shannon BainesLucinda Egerton
Brendan McGiffGodolphin

Stud Staff Award
NomineeNominee Stud
James FrankHascombe & Valiant Stud Ltd
Kate FordManley Old Hall Farm
Keith WarburtonShade Oak Stud
Tom HughesHazelwood Bloodstock
Daniel JamesBrookside Stud
Dean HansonFar Westfield Farm
Nathalie FollandElkington Stud
Noel ChallinorNorthmore Stud
Sarah TaylorMickley Stud
Dianne BestCobhall Court Stud

Dedication to Racing
NomineeNominee Yard/Stud
Alan TateJeremy Noseda
Chris JerdinOliver Sherwood
David WellsRoger Charlton
Dean AngellAmanda Perrett
Jamie DuffLucinda Russell
Patrick LennonShadwell Stud
William ReddyEve Johnson Houghton
Kevin HuntAndrew Balding
Marjorie RenwickHarriet Graham
Sharron JewkesLuca Cumani

Rory MacDonald Community
Jackie & John PorterNicky Henderson and IJF
Adam NishMusselburgh Racecourse
Amie CanhamRichard Fahey
Angela FrenchThe Racing Centre
Clifford LinesDavid Letts, Daryl Holland and Sir Michael Stoute
Michelle Douglas BHA
Peter WilliamsThe British Racing School
Samantha (Sam) TrainorAndrea O’Keeffe
Tim AdamsDale Gibson
Katy FergusonEpsom Trainers Association

Back to newsRead more >