Shortlist for the 2019 UK Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards announced


A total of 202 nominations were reviewed with the judging panel tasked with selecting a shortlist of 10 candidates in each of the six categories. Both Flat and Jump yards and studs from across England, Scotland and Wales are represented by individuals with a wide range of experience, from those who have worked in racing for just seven months to those with more than 50 years to their name.

The Rory MacDonald Community Award also recognises those who have made an outstanding contribution to improving the lives of those within racing or promote racing as a force for good in their local communities.

The judges will now begin the process of selecting three finalists in each category who will be invited to London on Monday, 18 February to meet with the judges ahead of the awards ceremony at the Jumeriah Carlton Tower that evening.

Brough Scott, Chair of the judging panel, said: “For we judges here comes the best and worst task of the year. It’s been bad enough getting each category down to a shortlist of 10 from a total of 202 high quality nominations. Now we have to whittle each group down to just three. All I can promise them is that we will do it with a respect and fairness which matches the admiration and appreciation we have for their efforts every day. “

David Nicholson Newcomer Award 

Lee Aziz – Robert Stephens

April Clarke – Jedd O’Keeffe

James Cooke – Overbury Stud

Hannah Crawford – Iain Jardine

Connor Fox – Amy Murphy

Zara Gott – Philip Hobbs

Max McLoughlin – Cheveley Park Stud

Charlie Richards – Andrew Balding

Sophy Scott – Mark Johnston

Lauren Thomas – Tim Vaughan


Jessica Bell – Brian Ellison

Catriona Bissett – Nick Alexander

Dan Horsford – Alan King

Steve Howarth – Kevin Ryan

Louise Kennedy – David Lanigan

Leanne Kershaw – Jedd O’Keefe

Sean Mulcaire – Philip Hobbs

Barry O’Dowd – John Gosden

Ian Russell – David Simcock

Jarek Standik – Richard Fahey


Ian Clarkson – Micky Hammond

Zoe Fuller – Julia Feilden

Monika Gasparova – Ed Walker

Sean Graham – Philip Hobbs

Stewart Gosnell – Richard Hughes

Javed Iqbal – Tom Dascombe

Darren McAlinden – Nicky Martin

Imran Shahwani – John Gosden

Patrick ‘Paddy’ Trainor – Mark Johnston

Jessica Wareham – Brian Barr

Stud Staff 

Noel Challinor – Northmore Stud

Christine Chapman – Theakston Stud

James Frank – Hascombe & Valiant Stud

Sophie Heaps – Highfield Farm

Tom Hughes – Hazelwood Bloodstock

Martin Languillet – Fittocks Stud

Andrew Snell – Cheveley Park Stud

Kevin Tobin – New England Stud

Anna Wesolowska – Witney Stud

David Woodley – Dullingham Park Stud

Dedication to Racing 

John Bottomley – Ollie Pears

David Crofts – Marcus Tregoning

John Dixon – Roger Charlton

Jaimie Duff – Lucinda Russell

Helen Halliwell – James Fanshawe

Tracey and Ray Hutt – Highclere Stud

David Macleod – James Ewart

Marjorie Renwick – Harriet Graham

Joline Saunders – Richard Phillips

Andrew Stringer – John Gosden

Rory MacDonald Community Award 

Darren Bird

Amie Canham

Rev. Peter Clark

Lizzie Harris

Deborah Hay

Sarah Montgomery

Andrea O’Keeffe

Shelley Perham

Carly Sage

Amy Starkey

Back to newsRead more >